Skip to main content

Let’s dig even deeper into ACA coverage.


Now that we’ve touched on Affordable Care Act (ACA) plans, let’s get into the specifics. You’ll learn about what ACA plans cover, how to get plan savings, what metal level is for you and more. Ready? Let’s get started.



Looking for a reason to buy ACA coverage? We’ve got 10.


ACA plans cover more than you think. Way more. Thanks to the Affordable Care Act, all ACA individual health insurance plans must cover these 10 essential benefit categories:


  1. Prescription drugs (including brand name and specialty drugs)
  2. Pregnancy, maternity and newborn care
  3. Pediatric services, including dental and vision care  
  4. Mental health and addiction services
  5. Preventive, wellness and disease management services  
  6. Lab tests  
  7. Emergency services
  8. Hospitalization
  9. Ambulatory services  
  10. Rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices

Does that mean all health plans are the same?


While all ACA plans need to include these 10 benefits categories, the services under each category can vary by state or plan. Some insurers , like Aetna CVS Health™, also offer expanded services and extras to help you live healthier. You can see what each plan offers during open enrollment.


Legal notices

Health plans are offered or underwritten or administered by Coventry Health Plan of Florida, Inc., Aetna Health Inc. (Georgia), Aetna Life Insurance Company, Aetna Health of Utah Inc., Aetna Health Inc. (Pennsylvania), or Aetna Health Inc. (Texas) (Aetna). Aetna is part of the CVS Health family of companies.

Aetna®, CVS Pharmacy, Inc. and MinuteClinic, LLC (which either operates or provides certain management support services to MinuteClinic®-branded walk-in clinics) are part of the CVS Health® family of companies. Aetna is the brand name for products and services provided by Aetna Life Insurance Company and its affiliates.

Health benefits and health insurance plans contain exclusions and limitations.